Audley People in Fiction


Alianore Audley
Alianore Audley is the  central fictional character in the light hearted , humorous, historical novel ‘The Adventures of Alianore Audley: The Annals of Yorkist Intelligence’ by Brian Wainwright.

The novel is set at the time of the ‘Wars of the Roses’ and she was a Yorkist Intelligence agent for Edward IV and Richard III. The irony is that in the novel her father is James Touchet  5th Lord Audley, who in real life was the  leader of the Lancastrian Forces at the Battle of Blore Heath on 24th September 1459 and he was killed in that Battle.

Dr David Audley

 Dr David Audley is a character in 19 books written by Alan Anthony Price (1918 to 2019)
In most of Anthony Price’s novels in the Dr David Audley & Colonel Jack Butlet series feature a group of counter intelligence operatives that work for an agency that bears a striking resemblance to MI5.
Audley the lead character makes an appearance in all 19 novels though he is not the chief protagonist in all of them. He is first introduced in the first novel of the series, The Labyrinth Makers, together with his colleague Paul Mitchell a historian.
In the ‘Labyrinth Makers’ David Audley plays the role of an unlikely spy; even though his job designation shows that he is an employee of the British Ministry of Defence.
Audley searches for the University Don charged with recruiting young impressionable British students for the Soviet cause. The novel is a tale of spasmodic violence, double identities, and conjecture that will have any mystery buff on the edge of their seat.

Dr David Audley appears in the following books:
The Labyrinth Makers (1970); winner of Silver Dagger Award.
The Alamut Ambush (1971}
Colonel Butler’s Wolf (1972)
October Men (1973)
Other Paths to Glory (1974) winner of Gold Dagger Award and shortlisted for the Dagger of Daggers Special Award,
Our Man in Camelot (1975)
War Games (1976)
The ’44 Vintage (1978)
Tomorrow’s Ghost (1979)
The Hour of the Donkey (1980)
Soldier No More (1981)
The Old Vengeful (1982)
Gunner Kelly (1983)
Sion Crossing (1984)
Here Be Monsters (1985)
For the Good of the State (1986)
A New Kind of War (1987)
A Prospect of Vengeance (1988)
The Memory Trap (1989)